How much does a DUI cost?
Cost of a DUI
|Towing Fee ($150 a day)||$750 (at least 5 days)|
|Registration reinstatement fee||$351.50|
|License reinstatement fee||$251.50|
|Ignition Interlock Device||$100|
|Estimated Average total||$8,809.50|
The cost of a DUI can be a lot of money but there are many factors to think about when asking this question. Even if you don’t crash your car or cause bodily harm to someone else, a DUI could cost you thousands upon thousands of dollars. If you do crash your car or cause bodily harm, it is going to be a lot of money.
The cost of a DUI also depends on the severity of the charges and if your case goes to trial. A first-time DUI will be different than multiple-DUI. A DUI also has hidden costs such as the massive insurance increase (if you are lucky and they don’t drop your insurance). You are easily looking at a possible $30,000 insurance cost increase over the next 10 years.
You also have to think about the stress it will put on yourself due to the employment consequences and the loss of the privilege to drive. These are probably the biggest expenses in the long term.
DUI Classes: In Rhode Island, DUI classes are going to cost you $350.
Towing Fee: At $150 per day, you are looking at $750 total for getting your car towed and stored.
Bail: Bail can range from $500 to over $2,000 depending on the judge, charges, and jurisdiction.
Attorney Fees: This can fluctuate depending on many factors. Especially if it goes to trial. Regardless, if you don’t want to lose your job and your license, you should hire an aggressive and experienced RI DUI lawyer.
Fines: The fines you pay can vary greatly depending on whether or not this is your first DUI. Another big factor is if you crashed and caused bodily harm to other people.
Registration reinstatement fee: In Rhode Island, it will cost you $351.50 to reinstate your registration.
License reinstatement fee: It will cost you $251.50 to reinstate your license in Rhode Island.
Ignition Interlock Device: This is a device you have to blow into in order for your car to start. It will cost you $100 in Rhode Island.
Updated License: If you have to get an ignition interlock device, you need to update your license.