Coventry DUI Lawyer
DUI Lawyer in Coventry, RI
A DUI (driving under the influence) can be one of the worst situations the average person may find themselves in. With a potential jail time in RI of 1 year for your first offense and a license suspension of up to 18 months, you will likely be quite worried should you find yourself being charged with a DUI.
But this is no reason to pack your bags and ride into the sunset- not just yet. So long as you can find a good attorney you can lessen the impact that a DUI will have upon your life quite drastically. A good lawyer can mean the difference between prison time and community service or a license suspension of 6 months or 18 months. A great DUI lawyer in RI can make all the difference.
Expert DUI Defense
Before becoming Rhode Island’s premier DUI defense attorney, Dan was a Rhode Island State Prosecutor at the Office of the Attorney General and a U.S. Marine Veteran.
Full-Service. Available 24/7.
After seeing cases from both sides, Attorney Griffin understands how stressful each case can be. That is why he will be aggressively fighting for you and available 24/7.
As a city detective I’ve had the opportunity to work with Attorney Daniel Griffin many times over the years…Attorney Griffin’s professionalism, ethics, and his commitment to the victims he represented is unparalleled. These attributes are why he has earned a great reputation throughout the state…I highly recommend him if you are in need of legal services. – Detective Joseph R. Hanley III
The Best DUI Lawyer in Coventry
In Coventry, whether it was a late evening at a friends or a night out at the bar; DUI’s are a regular occurrence. There are specialists who can help you in turning a potentially crippling situation into simply a mistake that you have learned from.
Luckily you found this article and are on the right path to finding one of these specialists; Rhode Island DUI Lawyer Attorney Daniel Griffin.
How to find an attorney who specializes in DUI
The best RI DUI lawyer is Attorney Daniel Griffin. Daniel has an array of experience, much of which has been helping people who find themselves in the unfortunate position of receiving a DUI. When searching for a DUI lawyer in RI, you will come across many who claim to have experience and claim to be able to get you out of a tough situation.
While you could search through these lawyers, you will find many of them aren’t actually interested in helping you and are simply after their fee. Daniel isn’t just an employee of a big law firm who is seeking to make you a client; you will find he offers something unique that is extremely helpful for anyone who finds themselves facing a DUI.
He runs his own firm- a much harder job which requires infinitely more commitment and discipline. Ask yourself one question.
Would you rather have an experienced lawyer who can focus their attention on you and you alone, without having higher ups demanding a bottom line?
Or would you rather have another corporate drone?
“I already received a prior DUI, what can I do?”
If you are a repeat offender, you should contact Attorney Griffin.
As the law stands, if you have been convicted of a DUI within the “Lookback” period in Rhode Island, it depends greatly on whether this is your 2nd or 3rd offense. The “lookback” period as it stands in Rhode Island is 5 years.
Your first offense will have involved jail time of up to one year, as mentioned earlier. This could have been on top of/instead of a $100-$500 fine and a license suspension of between 2 and 18 months.
With repeat offences, this increases as you go on.
If this is your 2nd offence in the 5 year period, you can be expecting: between 10 days and 1 year in prison, a $400 – $1000 fine, and a 1 to 2 year license suspension.
If this is your 3rd offence, the punishment rises somewhat again. You can expect: between 1 and 5 years in prison, a $400 – $5,000 fine, and a minimum of two years license suspension.
If you are in the second or third category, the importance of an experienced lawyer is only compounded as with the punishments. You should immediately get in touch with attorney Griffin.
“I refused the chemical test, what can I do?”
If you have already received your DUI, you will have undergone a chemical test as is the law in Rhode Island. Rhode Island has an implied consent law, meaning that if you refused the chemical test, you receive an automatic license suspension.
If this is your first offense you will receive:
– A 6 month license suspension
– Between 10 and 60 hours of community service
– A fine from between $200 and $500
If this is your second offence you will receive:
– A 12 month license suspension
– Between 60 and 100 hours of community service
– A fine from between $600 and $1,000
If this is your third offense you will receive:
– A license suspension between 2 and 5 years.
– 100 hours of community service
– A fine from between $800 and $1,000 with the possibility of jail time.
In any of these cases, you should contact the Law Office of Daniel Griffin immediately. An experienced lawyer can mean the difference between community service and prison time.
Receiving a DUI is going to be a stressful time no matter who you are. With the right legal representation, you will find you have less stress because you have the best possible defense on your side. Though you will certainly face repercussions, the severity is something highly dependent on your representation.
This situation can either severely impact your life over the coming years or it can be solved as quickly as is legally possible. The decision on which paths you will take is in your hands. Make sure you are best informed about your situation to find the right RI DUI lawyer for the job. Daniel Griffin is one that isn’t going to let you down.