How long will I be in jail for a DUI in RI? RI DUI Laws
Jail time for a DUI in Rhode Island
|First time: Between 0.08 and 0.1 BAC||Up to 1 year|
|First time: Between 0.1 and 0.15 BAC||Up to 1 year|
|First time: Above 0.15 BAC||Up to 1 year|
|Second time in 5 years: Between 0.08 and 0.15 BAC||10 days to 1 year|
|Second time in 5 years: Above 0.15 BAC||6 months to 1 year|
|Third time in 5 years: Between 0.08 and 0.15 BAC||1 to 3 years|
|Third time in 5 years: Above 0.15 BAC||3 to 5 years|
|DUI with suspended/revoked/cancelled license||Up to 3 years|
|DUI over the age of 18 with child in car||Up to 1 year|
|DUI causing serious bodily harm: First Offense||1 to 10 years|
|DUI causing serious bodily harm: Second Offense||2 to 15 years|
|DUI causing death: First Offense||5 to 15 years|
|DUI causing death: Second Offense||10 to 20 years|
Sources are from the Rhode Island Law webserver:
One of the scariest parts of getting charged with a DUI in RI is being sent to jail. In most DUI arrests, the driver is held in jail for a short period of time.
The consequences as it relates to sentencing for DUI is complicated. It depends on whether it is your first, second, or third conviction within a 5 year period. It also depends on if you are underage or caused serious bodily harm to another person.
Another concerning factor think about is whether or not the DUI is a felony. If it is, you are looking at a longer possible sentence than if you are being charged with a misdemeanor DUI. If it is your first offense, and you didn’t cause bodily harm, you will be charged with a misdemeanor.
The consequences for a DUI an be serious, and you can jump start your defense by knowing exactly what to do when you’re pulled over. It is vitally important to speak to an aggressive and experienced RI DUI lawyer in order to get your charges lessened or dismissed.